Apply for the 2018 Women Techmakers Scholarship Programme for African Women

About Anita Borg

Anita Borg (January 17, 1949 – April 6, 2003) was an American computer scientist. She founded the Institute for Women and Technology and the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing.

After receiving her Ph.D., Borg spent four years building a fault tolerant Unix-based operating system, first for Auragen Systems Corp. of New Jersey and then with Nixdorf Computer in Germany.

In 1986, she began working for Digital Equipment Corporation, where she spent 12 years, first at the Western Research Laboratory. While at Digital Equipment, she developed and patented a method for generating complete address traces for analyzing and designing high-speed memory systems. Her experience running the ever-expanding Systers mailing list, which she founded in 1987, led her to work in email communication. As a consultant engineer in the Network Systems Laboratory under Brian Reid, she developed MECCA, an email and Web-based system for communicating in virtual communities.

In 1997, Borg left Digital Equipment Corporation and began working as a researcher in the Office of the Chief Technology Officer at Xerox PARC. Soon after starting at Xerox, she founded the Institute for Women and Technology, having previously founded the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing in 1994.

Scholarship Details
The Google Anita Borg Memorial Scholarship Programme now called Women Techmakers Scholars Programme is offering numerous scholarships to African women who intends undergoing a bachelors degree, masters degree and PhD program in any University in Europe, Middle East and Africa.
With the help of Google, this scholarship was created to promote gender equality in the field of computer science by promoting and encouraging women to excel in computing and technology and become active leaders and role models in the field.

Application Deadline: 1st December 2017

Offered annually? Yes
Eligible Countries: Women from Europe, the Middle East and Africa

To be taken at: Universities in Europe, the Middle East and Africa

Eligible Subject Areas: Computer Science, Computer Engineering, Informatics or a closely related technical field

Course Level: Bachelors, Masters, PhD

Eligibility Criteria: To be eligible for this scholarship, applicants must:

be a Female
currently be enrolled at a university for the 2016-2017 academic year.
Intend to be enrolled in or accepted as a full-time student in a Bachelor’s, Master’s or PhD program at a university in Europe, the Middle East or Africa for the 2017-2018 academic year.
have good academic backgrounds.
be fluent in English language.
Postgraduate applicants must have completed their bachelors degree program in any recognized university in Europe, Middle East and Africa.
Number Of Scholarships:  Not specified

Value Of Scholarship:

The scholarship recipients will each receive a €7,000 (or equivalent) scholarship.
A retreat opportunity to connect with fellow scholars and Google mentors, while participating in professional and personal development trainings and workshops.
An online network with fellow scholars program participants designed to share resources, support the global community of women in tech and collaborate on projects to make continued impact.
How to Apply for the Scholarship
 Female applicants who are interested and eligible for this scholarship programme should complete the Online application form.

The following documents are required for application:

General background information (includes contact information and information about your current and intended institutions).
Current resume.
Responses to four essay questions.
One letter of reference from a professor, instructor, adviser or supervisor.
Academic transcripts from your current and prior institutions (if you have earned a prior degree).

Scholarship Webpage