NEW ZEALAND: Development Scholarship and Commonwealth Scholarship 2019 Programme outline

NEW ZEALAND: Development Scholarship and Commonwealth Scholarship 2019
Programme outline

The New Zealand Aid Programme offers scholarships to potential applicants from eligible African countries (including South Africa) who are motivated to make a difference at home.

Scholarships available
The following scholarship types are available. Follow the links below for more information about the particular scholarship type.
Eligible countries: Algeria, Angola, Botswana, Cameroon, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
Eligible Countries: Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

Degree level
Master's and PhD

Applications open in early 2018 for studies beginning in early 2019. Read application dates for more information. It is recommended that potential applicants start preparing early due to the long application process.

Who can apply?
Candidates must meet all eligibility criteria. Note: there are differing criteria for different scholarships.
Fields of Study
"We want scholars who are interested in studying subjects that can improve the social and economic development of your country. We've chosen priority sectors that can help your country and that New Zealand has expertise in."

Priority Sectors
If you can show that your study is connected to any of these sectors, you are more likely to be selected.

Agriculture development
• Agri-business management: agricultural economics, agricultural systems and management, rural development, logistics, supply chain and distribution management, value chain development, agriculture marketing, international agribusiness;
• Agriculture production: animal science, veterinary nursing, plant science, horticultural science, soil science;
• Agriculture trade and technology: Phytosanitary, bio-security, biotechnology, agricultural trade;
• Post-harvest: food production, food sciences/technology, post-harvest processing, food storage and packaging, food safety.

Renewable energy
• Geothermal, solar, hydro-electric and wind energy, energy engineering, renewable energy distribution systems, energy sector management/reform, including energy economics and financials.
Read the What You Can Study page to see examples of qualifications for these subjects

Application process
Selection Preferences The New Zealand Aid Programme is guided by both the Priority Sectors (above) and Selection Preferences when shortlisting candidates.

The New Zealand Aid Programme receives many enquiries that can be answered by reading the extensive information on their website. For example, see Eligibility, How to Apply or frequently asked questions. For questions which are not answered by the information on this website, submit an online enquiry here (external link). Regional Contact: New Zealand High Commission Attention: Scholarships, 125 Middle Street, Nieuw Muckleneuk 0181, Pretoria, South Africa. Tel: +27 12 435 9000

Please note that this opportunity is not offered by the Department of Higher Education and Training. Applicants are required to undertake their own research into programmes and institutions. If there are any discrepancies in the details provided, the information given by the sponsor supersedes the details provided above.